Who Are You Looking For?

John the Baptist, who was in prison, heard about all the things the Messiah was doing. So he sent his disciples to ask Jesus, “Are you the Messiah we’ve been expecting, or should we keep looking for someone else?” Matthew 11:2-3

I seem to have an insatiable desire to look for more.

Once I get that job…
If I only could make that much $$…
If I didn’t have so many…
Once I get my hands on…

John baptized Jesus, probably spent significant time with him, and even still, was wondering: Should I be looking for someone else, something more?

What’s the deal with that?

Jesus told them, “Go back to John and tell him what you have heard and seen— the blind see, the lame walk, the lepers are cured, the deaf hear, the dead are raised to life, and the Good News is being preached to the poor. And tell him, ‘God blesses those who do not turn away because of me.’ Matthew 11:4-6

In other words, Jesus has done and is doing what he is going to do. We tend to want more. Remember, this inner desire is insatiable.

But here’s the interesting thing: The disciples, including John, stopped looking for more. They found all they could ever want and need to satisfy something that appeared insatiable.

Jesus.

This weekend, millions of people will be returning to church, attempting to ask the question: Is this the Messiah, the Savior, the One who will truly satisfy, or is there something more I should be looking for?

Our role as ministry leaders, church leaders, and Christ followers is to show them Jesus and say, this is enough.

Leave a comment