What’s That In Your Hand?

hand-3

You don’t have what it takes.
You don’t possess enough talent, education, expertise, and skill to make it happen and get it done.

I’m guessing I’m not the only one who speaks this way to themselves at times.

Moses did too.

Then the Lord told Moses, “I have certainly seen the oppression of my people in Egypt. I have heard their cries of distress because of their harsh slave drivers. Yes, I am aware of their suffering. Exodus 3:7

Hey Moses, I see a need of eternal importance. I’m gonna need someone to help.

Now go, for I am sending you to Pharaoh. You must lead my people Israel out of Egypt. Exodus 3:10

I need your help. It’s going to be bigger than you, a holy ambition, and BHAG (big hairy audacious goal).

But Moses protested to God, “Who am I to appear before Pharaoh? Who am I to lead the people of Israel out of Egypt?” Exodus 3:11

Uh oh. Here comes that voice. You don’t have what it takes, do you? You don’t possess enough to get it done.

God answered, “I will be with you.” Exodus 3:12

Isn’t that enough, Moses?

But Moses protested again, “What if they won’t believe me or listen to me? What if they say, ‘The Lord never appeared to you’?” Exodus 4:1-2

Apparently not. The self-doubt is TOO great to overcome.

Then the Lord asked him, “What’s that in your hand?” Exodus 4:3

That’s the KEY question. What do you already possess? I’ve equipped you with something, given you more than you realize. What is that in your hand?

“A shepherd’s staff,” Moses replied.

“We have a perspective limited by what we see on earth, which keeps us from recognizing the invisible, unlimited resources of our Father in Heaven. What I think I need to get the job done and what God thinks I need are not always the same thing.” Brian Houston, Live Love Lead

Combine what God has already given you with God’s unlimited power and potential, you have what it takes to see God work. Powerfully. When the self-doubt rises, let God ask you: What’s that in your hand?

Leave a Reply

