Here to There (With People)

one-pass-plow-03

I’ve always heard it said that leadership is moving people from here to there.

I agree. Leadership is about seeing a vision of what’s possible, making a case for why an organization, church, business, or group of people canNOT stay here, and leading people to the vision of THERE.

However, there is a dark side I’ve seen play out too many times: It’s possible to achieve a vision while leaving people in your wake. 

In the name of a vision and moving people here to there, it’s quite possible to plow the very people you are called to lead along the way. Leave them in your wake. Crush their spirits. Use them, abuse them, and move on without them.

Sure, there are always a certain percentage of people who simply will not come along for the ride from here to there. Usually, they’ll self-select. They aren’t interested. They don’t have what it takes. They don’t have the skills or talents to keep up. Maybe, they just don’t believe in the vision.

But, there are a number of organizations, businesses and even churches who will do whatever it takes – even if that means leaving people in their wake – to achieve a vision.

That’s why, my personal mission statement is this: Lead people to achieve a God-inspired, compelling vision together.

Personally, I don’t want to be a leader who moves (X) from here to there without people. God has called me to love people, and I want to lead those people with a self-sacrificing love.

Trust me, this is not easy. It’s not easy to place love above the vision. I’m an achiever. I want to accomplish. I will, if not careful, leave people in my wake in the name of a vision.

But that’s not who I want to be. I don’t want to plow over people. I want to till the soil, prepare it, plow away the obstacles so that the very people who I am called to love and lead have the ability to follow closely behind. I want to lead people to achieve a God-inspired, compelling vision TOGETHER.

Leaders: Don’t leave people in your wake. Sacrifice for them, clear the way, and make it easier for them to follow. But always make sure you do it together.

2 thoughts on “Here to There (With People)

  1. I absolutely love this AND it is super hard to keep this concept in check. Till the soil so they can accomplish! So much of leading is paving the way SO THAT others can succeed! Nice work, my dear 🙂

  2. I really like this message. It doesn’t have to be on grand tractor-level. Us People just need to be loving & kind, & remember those who tend to be forgotten~~~

Leave a Reply

