The Dreams for This Season

Every so often, I reassess my goals/resolutions/dreams, and as I moved into 2014, I have been fortunate enough to be working through Storyline 2.0 by Donald Miller, which has helped me clarify these dreams.

I’m a major fan of dreams (call them resolutions/goals/or whatever, but I tend to use dreams). When dreams die, we start to die.

Tweet: We need to consistently be breathing oxygen into dreams so that we'll feel more alive. http://ctt.ec/TwPZI+ @johnalex5We need to consistently be breathing oxygen into dreams so that we’ll feel more alive.

I wrote more about dreams here.

One of my friends told me there is research we get as big of a rush as telling people about our dreams as we do actually accomplishing them and so we should avoid telling people our dreams. Well, I’m still going to write about them. Why? Because as you’ll see in my writer dream, the right words at the right time have been a catalyst in my own life, and it is my prayer that some of these dreams will inspire your life.

Dream of Being a Husband: I want to be Emily’s biggest fan and champion in her life. I want her to know she is my top priority and I want her to feel loved and supported by me as she becomes all that God created her to be.

Dream of Being a Father: I want to make family my top priority, and I want my kids (just one for now) to know that. I want to give my best energy to my kids and create a family experience that is safe, fun, Jesus-centered, and lives a great story.

Dream of Being a Leader: I want to lead others to achieve a compelling vision together. I want to be a leader who moves people from here to there, helps them become all they were created to be, and who loves people more than the vision itself.

Dream of Being a Christian: I want to people to see Jesus when they see me. I want to make Jesus the Lord over all areas of my life and I want to continually grow in Christ-like character (love, peace, patience, joy, kindness, gentleness, and self-control!).

Dream of Being a Writer: I want to inspire, challenge, and motivate people through my writing to be more of who God created them to be. I want to put the right words at the right time in the right people’s hands to be a catalyst for change.

Let me assure you, in this life, I will never fully achieve completeness in any of these. But I’ve been inspired by so many other people in my life who’ve shown me how to strive for dreams like these.

So, for this season, I’m going to focus on creating opportunities to push closer towards these dreams. Over the next few months, I’m going to write about the ways I’m pursuing each of these.

What’s a dream that God is putting on your heart, mind, and soul? 

2 thoughts on “The Dreams for This Season

  1. Thanks for making me think a bit today John. My wife and I are fortunate enough to have our one of our dreams fulfilled with your help each Wednesday as we watch our daughter grow closer to Christ. I find that my life is easier and I can accept the peace that Christ gives me when my thoughts and actions pass through the filter of the dreams that I have identified for my life; to be Christ centered, to live in service to others, to find the best way to use the gifts I have been given, and to pass those building blocks on to my children. We are blessed to have a church full of people like you to help us.

    • Lee,
      This is so kind and insightful. Thank you first for the kind words. I also feel very fortunate to be a part of this church and am so, so thankful your daughter is growing closer to Jesus. That’s our greatest prayer over and over. Also, your filter you process dreams through is extremely insightful. I love it. Thank you for reading and sharing your thoughts!!! See you around!

Leave a Reply

