Read Less For More

Recently, my old boss and still current mentor Don Graffam gave me some notes I had given up regarding goals I was setting for 2011. On the sheet, it said: “Read less books and spend more time with God reading scripture, praying, and meditating.”

Last year, with my current boss Ray Zaffke, one of my personal goals was to “Read less books and spend more time with God.”

In other words, I’ve felt the need to create the same goal two years in a row because I haven’t done it, specifically the reading books side. On the positive side, I’ve vastly improved the amount of time I spend listening to God and reading scripture, but I haven’t decreased the amount of books I’ve read.

Guess what? I’m going to make it a goal again! 

But this year, I’m serious about it. For too long, I’ve known the amount of books I’ve read (100-120 a year) isn’t the best for my personal development. There comes a point when too much is too much, and it’s not effectively doing what books are supposed to do: To help people grow, change,  learn, and be challenged and inspired. 

So, this year, I’m going to READ LESS FOR MORE. Here’s the plan.

* I’m going to read 4-5 books a month (Not including the books I read to reference for messages and speaking).
* I will typically read one ministry book, one spiritual growth book, one leadership book, and one to two random books (fiction or non-fiction).
* I’m going to write a review of every book I read on this blog, to help me slow down and reflect on what I’ve read.
* I’m going to choose the books at the beginning of the month and let you know which ones I’m going to read.

And during it all, I’m going to read through the bible in a year using this bible reading plan.

By doing this, I hope to reflect, savor, and chew on the words of the books I’m reading more. In other words, I want to read less for more impact, more change, more inspiration, and more growth.

So, for the month of January, here the five books:

giveandtake-cover1. Give and Take: A Revolutionary Approach to Success by Adam Grant

Inn Secret

2. Innovation’s Dirty Little Secret by Larry Osborne

The-Naked-Gospel

3. The Naked Gospel by Andrew Farley

51odihFdMtL._SY344_PJlook-inside-v2,TopRight,1,0_SH20_BO1,204,203,200_

4. Eleven Rings by Phil Jackson

Gilead-Photo-1

5. GIlead by Marilynne Robinson

What are you planning to read this month? 

8 thoughts on “Read Less For More

  1. How in the world do you have time to do all that you do??!! Right now I’m trying NOT to read “Orphan Train”, fiction novel based on real history. I have been told that if you start to read it, you won’t be able to put it down, even if you need to get a little sleep. I have so many chores I need to do before I can start a book like that!
    Thanks for letting me read your blog. I really appreciate it.
    from one of your Mom’s many friends,
    Sue Brigman
    PS Your Mom has many friends named Sue too!

    • Hey Sue. I’ve heard of that book! Let me know what you think of it! I find time to read in the 5-10 minutes here and there when I get it, multiple times a day. I’m that guy that brings books wherever he goes. My mom taught me to love reading!

    • Good morning, John,
      Of course your bookaholic Mom taught you to be the same as she is! We trade & share books all the time. And then we loan & share those books to even more friends. Lots of fun.
      I hope you get enough minutes to read today!
      Do you read all your monthly books at the same time, or do you finish one before starting another one?
      Sue

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  2. Pingback: Book Review: Give and Take | At The Garage

Leave a Reply

