Anticipation

We’re nearing the fall kick-off of Student Ministries, and there is a high buzz of anticipation, within the students and volunteers, but also within my own soul.

I’m not sure where I picked up this practice or even when I started doing it, but I’ve started turning that anticipation into pre-praising God for all the great things he is going to do.

In other words, my prayers turn into prayers of gratitude for things that haven’t happened yet, but things I believe God will make happen soon.

As I’ve done this, I’ve noticed my anticipation turn away from anxiety and turn into a more complete faith.

I’m pre-praising God for the ways he is going to bring thousands of students into loving church and teaching them to invite their friends. I’m pre-praising God for the ways an adult will love and know a student, and for the ways these students will grow in their faith by serving. I’m pre-praising God for the hundreds of students who are going to make a first-time commitment to follow him. And I’m pre-praising God for the ways he’s going to continue a movement of students who prepare to be lifelong followers of Jesus!

The anticipation is high, and I believe with every fiber of my being that God not only equals my anticipation, but that he wants to show us even greater things than our minds can imagine!

Leave a Reply

