New Series: One (Jesus)

Ground Zero kicked off a new series this week called One. Here is the overview of the series:

It starts with one. Knowing One. Going one direction. Reaching one. Doing one thing. Sometimes we get so caught up with the many that we forget it’s just about the one.

There is ONE Jesus.
There is ONE direction we are going to take you at Ground Zero.
There is ONE name of a person who is far from God.
There is ONE thing you can do right now to change yours or someone else’s life.

Don’t get lost in the many.
It’s time to focus on the one.

Week 1: One Jesus
Week 2: One Direction
Week 3: One Name
Week 4: One Action

In week one, we addressed how there is a big difference between knowing about Jesus and really knowing Jesus. But we did talk about how Jesus actually is, because we recognize a lot of students don’t know anything about him. And that’s okay!

We then taught through John 7:28-29: “Yes, you know me, and you know where I am from. I am not here on my own, but he who sent me is true. You don’t know him, but I know him because I am from him and he sent me.”

Jesus is saying: Look! I’m a man. You see me. You know where I live. You know where I come from. BUT, you don’t REALLY know me. Because if you did, you’d know that I am God.

And then he gets to the difference between just knowing about him and really knowing him: “If anyone is thirsty, let him come to me and drink. Whoever believes in me, as the Scripture has said, streams of living water will flow from within him.” John 7:37-38

We challenged students to really get to know Jesus this week by spending time with him and handed out Weekly One Guides to direct them to do so.

After the night was over, we had one young woman who wanted to really know more of Jesus, and chose to say Yes to knowing him more.

Leave a Reply

