Do You Have What It Takes?

“And so it was with me, brothers and sisters. When I came to you, I did not come with eloquence or human wisdom as I proclaimed to you the testimony about God. For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ and him crucified. I came to you in weakness with great fear and trembling. My message and my preaching were not with wise and persuasive words, but with a demonstration of the Spirit’s power, so that your faith might not rest on human wisdom, but on God’s power.” 1 Corinthians 2:1-6

Almost every time I speak, make a decision, or lead, I feel like Paul. I don’t feel adequate enough. I don’t have eloquence or a strong talent in any of these areas. I seriously often wonder, before and after I’m about to speak to junior high students, do I have what it takes? Furthermore, I often wonder when making decisions and leading teams in order to reach more students for Christ, do I have what it takes?

The short answer is NO. Absolutely not. I don’t have what it takes.

It’s hard to remember and it’s hard to live out, but I’m trying to remind myself over and over and over again that it is Christ who lives and moves and has his being — in me. If I can get out of the way and yet prepare as hard and faithfully as I possibly can, at the end of the day it is Christ in me who is the hope of glory.

Do you have what it takes? Probably not.

But Jesus certainly does.

One thought on “Do You Have What It Takes?

  1. John,
    Your Mom & an angel on earth (from my point of view, just sent out tons of emails dating back to August when you and Emily became parents. It has been such a joy to see everyone’s beaming faces & how I stumbled on your “Garage” blog, which I already have come to love. Our family, all local ( how blessed could two grandparents be?) rely on me heavily sometimes making this Mom/grandmasueb/ Ba (Vietnamese for Grandma) almost as tired as your Mom gets. But being my angel on earth, your Mom inspires me to look above for inspiration, creativity, patience, endurance & so much more than I can say. I hope it’s okay that I got on your blog, as I have no professional title except” Professional Household & Family Engineer”. Love to your family, Sue Br.

Leave a Reply

