When You Aren’t Feeling Inspired or Motivated

I care a lot about how I’m feeling. Too much.

Here’s what I mean: I want to feel inspired. I want to feel motivated. I want to feel good.

However, we just can’t trust our feelings.

I know you’ve heard that before, and there’s probably some conflicting thoughts in your mind about whether you really can trust your feelings or not.

On the one hand, feelings are definitely an indicator of what’s going on inside, aren’t they? They are usually an outward expression of what’s going on inwardly.

I’m here to write: I just don’t know if that is true.

In my short life, I’ve concluded that I personally can’t trust my feelings.

There are times when I’m feeling “dark” for no reason. There are times I’m feeling anxious when all of my life is completely in order. There are times when I am feeling uninspired or unmotivated when I’ve got a million things to do — things that I love to do — and people are literally spiritually dying around me.

When I was a baseball player, there were plenty of times I didn’t feel like going to practice my swing. I was tired. I had too much homework. It was too late at night. But despite those feelings, I was taught to just push every single day, to not let my feelings get in the way of the ultimate goal.

It’s the same in a relationship with Jesus. Ya, there are plenty of times I’m not feeling inspired to spend time reading my bible, or praying, or going to church.

But the same is true with my relationship with Jesus as it is with baseball – to just push every single day, to not let my feelings get in the way of the ultimate goal.

One of my mentor-friends, Pastor John Hogenson, encouraged me to simply plant something every day you want to see grow later. Every. Single. Day.

Even when I’m not feeling inspired or motivated.

When you aren’t feeling inspired or motivated, you need to rely on the pattern of discipline and practice you’ve established.

Question: What do you do when you aren’t feeling inspired or motivated?

Leave a Reply

