Leadership Summit 2011 (Bill Hybels)

On Thursday and Friday, I had the opportunity to host and attend the Willow Creek Global Leadership Summit.

I love great conferences. I loathe/despise/hate good to average conferences. I’ve had the fortune to attend to GREAT conferences this year (Drive at North Point, and now the Leadership Summit).

This was the 4th time I’ve been to a Leadership Summit, and this was the best one ever. Without question.

From top to bottom, the speakers challenged, encouraged, and enlightened. The Summit leaders did a phenomenal job pinging and ponging different personalities, styles, and messages, to keep things moving along and refreshing.

Because of how great the speakers are, I want to take the next few blog posts and just summarize and reflect a bit on a few of my faves of this year. I’ll start with one of my favorite pastors and speakers of all-time, Bill Hybels, pastor of Willow Creek.

Hybels spoke a few different times throughout the Summit, but he only had one features keynote. He led off with a talk called: Five Critical Questions.

One of the takeaways for me was his first question, What is your current leadership challenge level at work? Are you dangerously over challenged? Appropriately challenged? Or low/under challenged? Hybels concludes, based on a number of research studies, are best work occurs at JUST above appropriately challenged, and in the low-end of dangerously over-challenged.

I see two types of people in youth ministry. There are those who NEVER reach even close to a dangerously over challenged level. They either don’t have the capacity or the drive. Then, there are those who are always pushing the dangerously over challenged level and never take a breath. And leaders, Hybels notes, are responsible for replenishment for themselves AND to set the pace of the organization. Leaders can neither over or under rev.

The second question that hit home for me was this: When is the last time you re-examined what your core is all about? At Eagle Brook, I am fortunate enough to work at a place where we talk a lot about mission, vision, values a lot — in essence, are core. But I took this question more personally. What is MY core all about? What are the core things that I would die for? What are the core things I want Ground Zero, our Junior High Ministry, to be all about?

Two conclusions:
1. I need to daily reflect on my own “engine” and the “engine” of our team. Am I over revving, under revving, or revving just right?

2. I need to spend some time quietly discerning the core (of course, based on who we already are). What are those things I’m willing to absolutely die for and what things do I need to let go?

What were your takeaways from Hybels talk?

One thought on “Leadership Summit 2011 (Bill Hybels)

  1. Pingback: Leadership Summit 2011 (Michelle Rhee) « At The Garage

Leave a Reply

