Introducing Maddox John Alexander

Life has changed a bit in the last 56 hours! At 10:15 PM on August 3rd, 2011, my wife Emily gave birth to our first child, Maddox John Alexander!! Thus far, he has been healthy, happy, peaceful, and of course, adorable! It is difficult to describe the range of overwhelming emotion that accompanied this experienced. For those who have not gone through a birth of your child, it is most certainly like nothing you have ever experienced!

Through the experience, I can tell you my love and joy capacity has already increased exponentially. My appreciation, admiration, love for my wife has grown exponentially. My “wonder” and “attention” has increased dramatically as well. My prayers and blessings over this house, my wife, our relationship, and Maddox have multiplied. Our gratitude is completely overwhelmed by all the love, support, prayers, and encouragement we have received from our family and hundreds of friends! We are so so grateful for where God has placed us in life.

We chose a life verse for Maddox, and it is this: “Jesus replied, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never be hungry again. Whoever believes in my will never be thirsty.” (John 6:35).

Maddox is going to encounter and experience lots of things in life, but our sole prayer is that he would come to understand this verse. We pray he would understand Jesus is the ONLY source to satisfy the hunger and thirst of life. We pray he would understand that he has been placed on this earth to bring glory to God and to live his life adventurously, radically, ordinarily — in obedience to and relationship with God. We pray that as parents, we would model this kind of relationship with God and we would live out John 6:35 in front of Maddox.

Thank you everyone for your prayers, your love, and your encouragement during this time! We are overwhelmed with joy and love and gratitude.

I’ve found myself blessing Maddox with an old school blessing that I’ve kept in my memory bank (I think it’s an original Hebrew blessing found in Numbers):
May the Lord bless you and keep you. May he make his face shine upon you and be gracious to you. May he look upon you with favor and grant you his peace. In the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. Amen.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Introducing Maddox John Alexander

  1. Dude so happy for you guys right now! Praying for you that you will love your son as God loves us. That in this your marriage will be strengthened and not stressed. Praying that God will use this to teach you to love parents in your ministry more as you understand what they have already gone through.
    Love you bro and very proud of you!

Leave a Reply

