Focus (Or Lack Thereof)

Focus is difficult.

Isn’t it?

There are so many distractions.
Texts to answer.
Twitter.
Facebook posts.
Commissioned assignments.
And uncommissioned assignments.
Dreams.
Tasks.
Books to read.
Homework to do.

As my job (and life) responsibilities increase, I realize how important the discipline of focus is.
Without it, I spin circles.
With focus, I accomplish.

I’ve heard the advice to create a “not to do” list. I keep this quote around just in case I forget.
“The art of being wise is the art of knowing what to overlook.” William James

I also create priorities lists (order the most important tasks).

But at the end of the day, focus is a choice and a discipline. I can use all the tools, all the reminders I want to use, but in the end, I either choose to focus on priorities…or not.

How do you maintain focus throughout the day or week?

One thought on “Focus (Or Lack Thereof)

  1. This may turn into its own blog post….
    About two years ago I meet with a pastor who has been in ministry for almost 30 years. He has planted churches, lead worship, been the associate and now is a lead of a cool church. He talked to me about time management (not my best area).
    He shared with me about the need to set times to block out for God, my family, work, sermon prep, meeting with leaders, planning camps, forward thinking and seminary. Now I quickly got all that confused and booked in the wrong order. We meet up again about six months later and I got a re-allignment course.
    So basically the way I keep focus is by managing my time. I sit down with Charity on Sunday night and we plan our week. Then we look ahead and check the month. Sometimes we book further out but this allows me to accomplish what I need to get done and make time for what I want to do: date nights, doughnuts with my kids and snowboarding (occasionally).
    That is the basic for me on how to keep focused. I manage my time so my time doesn’t get lost and I don’t achieve what God is calling me to!

Leave a Reply

