The Edge (Part 2)

God has been hammering me with this phrase, the edge. If you missed it, check out my post from yesterday.

Today, I’m thinking about what my brother, Ryan, taught me about the edge.

Ryan led a tiny youth group (of 7 kids) to 300 in less then 4 years in Mahtomedi, Minnesota. Of course, he credits God, primarily, and other leaders, but one of things I remember him saying over and over again is that he was willing to take things as close to the EDGE as possible without going over. His youth ministry style was to do whatever it took to get to as close to the EDGE as possible without going over.

His words spurred something inside of me. And I came to find out, Paul had a very similar ministry philosophy. In 1 Corinthians 9, Paul writes: “Even though I am a free man with no master, I have become a slave to all people to bring many to Christ. When I was with the Jews, I lived like a Jew to bring the Jews to Christ. When I was with those who follow the Jewish law, I too lived under that law. Even though I am not subject to the law, I did this so I could bring to Christ those who are under the law. When I am with the Gentiles who do not follow the Jewish law, I too live apart from that law so I can bring them to Christ. But I do not ignore the law of God; I obey the law of Christ.

When I am with those who are weak, I share their weakness, for I want to bring the weak to Christ. Yes, I try to find common ground with everyone, doing everything I can to save some. I do everything to spread the Good News and share in its blessings.”

Paul was willing to go the EDGE. Ryan taught me the difference between status quo ministry styles and the edge leadership styles.

Are you willing to go to the edge to reach people otherwise unreachable?

Leave a Reply

