Invest in Today

I had a mentor, John Hogenson, who taught me one of the most valuable lessons I have ever learned — Invest in Today.

No matter where you are. No matter what you are doing. No matter what stands in your way. Invest in today.

Here’s what I mean: When I was a baseball player in Switzerland, I had a dream I would become a pastor, specifically a youth pastor.

So I invested in each day. I read. I read. I read. And I took notes. Lots and lots of notes.

I wasn’t doing it for a class. I wasn’t doing it for a job. I was doing it to simply invest in that day.

You can’t always control your circumstances, but you can certainly control what you are doing about your life today.

If I could give ANY advice to ANY aspiring youth pastors, leaders, pastors, I would say to invest in every day. If you attempt to grow every day, if you attempt to invest in the day and seek to grow and do whatever it is God has asked you to do, if you keep your vision out in front of you and just simply work at growing right where you are, God will reward and bless those efforts.

Too often, people say: I will work at becoming a better leader WHEN I get a job that matters. I will read books WHEN I have a leadership position. I will GROW if I’m given people to lead.

But what if it is the other way around? What if God wants us to prepare BEFORE He is ready to give us jobs, positions, students to lead?

One day, a month from now, a year from now, 10 years from now, you will look back on those days you simply attempted to grow, no matter your circumstances, with extreme satisfaction.

Invest in today. No matter what.

Leave a Reply

