Living In Your Ministry Community

Three weeks ago, Emily and I moved into the city of White Bear Lake, where we both work. Previously, we lived in St. Paul, approximately 15 miles away from our church city.

Now, we can’t go anywhere without seeing someone we know.

And we love it.

Today, I saw two junior high school students I knew. We talked to three different parents. We interacted with two different high school students who used to be in our ministry setting. And I ran three miles to see some of our mentors in life.

And did I tell you we love it?

I’m not sure I think living in proximity to your ministry community is essential, but I’m pretty close to believing it is. Having a presence, being a face, and just being around the same people in the “world” that you attempt to lead and guide in your youth ministry setting is a hugely important extra bonus, if not essential.

What do you think? Do you think it is essential to live in close proximity to the ministry setting where you serve as a youth pastor?

2 thoughts on “Living In Your Ministry Community

  1. Dude I love it! I think that its a must. When I was in San Diego I lived about 40 minutes from where I did ministry and it sucked! That meant I rarely drove out to see students if I wasn’t at church. I never ran into anyone that I knew and it made late nights even longer.

    When we moved to Vegas I told the realtor that I wanted to be within 5 miles of the church. We are a little closer than that but I love it. We run into families from church all the time. We get to see them in the store, the gym and when we eat out.

    Now the key for you will be to drive 20 miles to take your wife on a date so that you don’t run into anyone in the church and can have a quite date with just her!

Leave a Reply

