Getting In The Way

While reading the Lent Reading Plan on YouVersion, I read John 18:1-18 today. In the story, Judas is leading the Roman Soldiers into the grove where Jesus is hanging out to arrest him.

They ask Jesus who he is, and he answers “I am He.” A clear definitive answer that he is God.

After getting over the shock, they move to arrest him and Peter, one of Jesus’ disciples, moves in to defend Jesus and slashes off the ear of one of the soldiers.

I spent some time visualizing my own reaction. I pictured Jesus hanging out in my house and a group of soldiers entering to arrest him.

And immediately, I could feel the passion, the intensity Peter must have felt to defend his leader, his hero, his best friend, his God.

How many times have I gotten in the way of God’s plan because of my own feelings and passions? 

I can’t imagine I would have reacted any differently than Peter!

And yet Peter was told by Jesus: “Put your sword back into its sheath.” Jesus knew God’s plan. “Jesus fully realized all that was going to happen to him…”

Although Peter’s passion is admirable, it isn’t God-centered. We can be as passionate and as intense as we want to be, but if those passions and feelings are getting in the way of what God wants to do in us and through us, we are going against the will of God.

My prayer today is that God would teach me how to discern my passion and His will. 100 times out of 100, I want to choose God’s will. And it’s only by visualizing myself in those moments that I will ever learn how to choose God’s plans rather than my own.

Lord, teach me to not get in Your way!

Leave a Reply

