A Calloused Heart

“A good person produces good things from the treasury of a good heart, and an evil person produces evil things from the treasury of an evil heart. What you say flows from what is in your heart.” (Luke 6:45)

The last few days, I can tell my heart has felt calloused. I had a few irrational outbursts. More anger than usual. More irritation. Less of a sense of peace, satisfaction, and fulfillment. My connection with God felt lifeless and tired.

I was talking with Emily last night and didn’t really have any reasons or ideas why. It was just calloused.

And then, I watched Blind Side. I can’t explain it, really, but my heart just opened up. I needed the refresher. I needed to experience some emotion. I cried a bit. Laughed a bit. Really absorbed the movie, and the callousness of my heart has evaporated.

I’m not saying the answer to a calloused heart for everyone or every moment is to watch a sappy, feel-good movie, but if are relationship with God is in tact and we’re just feeling a bit off, is it wrong to let an outside source do a number on your heart?

I don’t think so.

Let me ask: What are some ways you monitor the status of your heart? What are some ways you look to heal the callousness inside?

 

 

Leave a Reply

