SoulPrint: Discovering Your Divine Destiny (A Review)

I consumed SoulPrint by Mark Batterson in 24 hours. I soaked in every last word.

And I loved every minute of it.

Batterson has a flowing, narrative writing style combined with biblical insight and depth of content. In SoulPrint, Batterson explores the “divine destiny” within each one of us. Far from being a self-help or achievement-oriented type of book, Batterson instead explores how vital it is to recognize the soulprint GOD has placed within each one of us.

I couldn’t have read this book at a better time in my life.

Personally, I’ve been wrestling with ambition and unique abilities for some time. I have some gifts in regards to leading, reading, writing, and speaking, and in general I’m a DRIVEN person, but I’ve been wrestling with healthy ambition versus selfish, look-at-me ambition.

Batterson reminds readers that we must continually allow God to sanctify our motives. If we are pursuing these gifts for ourselves, we are doing it for the wrong reasons. Let’s face it, there are a ton of Christian pastors and leaders and authors who are building their platforms for themselves, and I don’t want to be one of those. Instead, we should “seek the shadows” and not the spotlight.

The book is divided into five sections. He writes how each person must place Holy Confidence in God, how we need to look into our past, how we need to be more concerned with who we are becoming rather than what we are doing, how we need to seek out embarrassment occasionally, and how we need to look into the mirror every single day and confront the sin inside of our pursuits.

Overall, I highly…HIGHLY…recommend this book. Batterson slams it out of the park with this one.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

Leave a Reply

