Moving Day

Emily and I moving today. Since June 1, we’ve lived at The Blanchard residence (a not-too-shabby mansion in Dellwood) and with her parents in North St. Paul. We’ve been incredibly grateful for so many generous people to let us camp out for a time.

Today, we move into an apartment in downtown St. Paul. We are totally pumped to get some city living and apartment life. We probably won’t be saying that when we need to take our puppies out at 6 AM in 0 degree weather in January, but hey…

Anyways, I’ve lost count, but personally, I’ve probably lived in 7-10 different residences in 4 different states (and 1 country) the last 5 years since graduating college.

I’m tired of moving!

Now, realistically, we won’t be in this apartment more than 1 – 3 years, but I’ve been reflecting a bit on moving the last few days.

First, I do hate packing, carrying, and moving boxes and stuff. It’s just hard.

Second, there must be a part of me that loves to be “on the move.” My parents have lived in the same house for over 30 years. I think these two contrasting styles are definitely reflective on the varying generations. Some would label permanence and stability as “good” and others as “boring.” Some would label being “on the move” as “immature” and “bad” and others as “adventurous” and “living life.”

Third, being “on the move” is a part of the kind of life I want to live. In many ways, don’t get me wrong, I want to plant myself in a community, at a church, in a group of friends and family who know me, love me, and share life together. In my humble opinion, I could see Emily and I staying in Minnesota and at the church community we are at for many, many years.

On the other hand, I value the movement and spirit of God. I want to not just “settle” for comfort’s sake. I want to follow the radical, adventurous spirit of God as best as I humanly can.

We live in a culture that values stability, security, and comfort. But we follow a Christ who values faithfulness, dependence on the Father, adventure, radical obedience, and living with an eternal — and not just a earthly — perspective.

How do we balance being “on the move” and planting in community? How do we balance moving with staying?

Leave a Reply

