Plan B ~ A Timely Read In My Life

What do you do when God doesn’t show up the way you thought He would?

The subtitle of this book, Plan B by Pete Wilson, is the question he explores with honesty and authenticity.

In summary, this book is about much more than what to do in the face of pain and suffering, which is originally what I thought it was going to be about. Instead, it was about so much more. In his strongest chapter, Whiplash, Wilson says: “But if Paul doesn’t know the what, when, and where, he does know the answer to one important question. He knows WHY he’s doing what he’s doing. He knows his purpose, his mission – to bring glory to God with his life” (77).

When I began reading this book, I kept thinking, “Alright, this is solid, but this message isn’t for me. I mean, my life is good, why do I need a Plan B?”

But then I read those words above. In correlation, I found out that same day something I was sure of suddenly became unsure.

How am I going to respond in the face of uncertainty? What kind of person am I going to be when God doesn’t show up exactly the way I had planned?

Essentially, as Wilson writes, I had put my purpose, my hope, my assurance in the DREAM. But my dream had become my idol. Heck, my plans every day have become my idol.

Instead, my hope and trust is in God alone.

As Wilson asks, “What would you do if you were certain God was going to show up?”

We must live with this kind of faith. God is always there. He hasn’t abandoned us when things don’t turn out the way we thought.

Further, Wilson challenged me by asking: “What is your Jordan River? What is your Plan B situation? Where is God asking you to take a seemingly impossible step, a step of faith?” (45).

Seek first His kingdom. That’s our agenda. That’s our plan A, plan B, and every plan from there on out. To cross the Jordan River of uncertainty, we must first and always seek first His kingdom.

This book taught me way more than I thought it was going to. Don’t wait for your Plan B to slam you in the face before reading this book.

One thought on “Plan B ~ A Timely Read In My Life

Leave a Reply

