The Questions People Are Asking

In a modern, mostly Christian era, it was safe to assume the unreached, unchurched, and dechurched were asking questions such as:

1. Who is Jesus and why does he matter?

2. Why did Jesus die?

3. How do I pray?

4. How should I tell others about God?

5. What is the deal with the Church?

These questions (and then some) were mostly assumed to be the most relevant questions of non-Christians. At the very least, most could assume, people had a working understanding of Christian ideas, values, and concepts.

But these are no longer the primary questions people are asking.

In one way, the questions have broadened, as has the gap between belief and unbelief. In another way, the questions of the unreached have become more complex as well.

I’d like to hear from you. What questions are the unreached, the unchurched, the dechurched (essentially non-Christians) asking about God, higher power, faith, and Christianity?

Of course, since this is my blog, I’ll offer my own opinion.

1. Do I want to be like you?

2. Does this or will this make a difference in my life?

3. How does Christianity compare to other religions? Why is it different? Why should I choose Christianity over any other religion?

4. Do Christians hate homosexuals?

5. How does Christianity embrace the proven concepts of science and evolution? Can science and religion get along?

6. What can I expect to happen when I’m a Christian? In other words, what about suffering and evil?

7. Can a loving God send people to hell?

8. Do you really read the Bible literally?

9. What about all the damage I suffered because of the church early in life. Why should I go to church even if I believe?

This is just a working list I’ve been pondering with my brother Ryan.

Any other thoughts?

Leave a Reply

