Legacy

Do you ever think about how people will remember you?

Do you ever consider your legacy?

My wife, Emily, recently sang Legacy by Nichole Nordeman at church. It’s a powerful song…

I want to leave a legacy
How will they remember me?
Did I choose to love? Did I point to You enough
To make a mark on things?
I want to leave an offering
A child of mercy and grace who
blessed your name unapologetically
And leave that kind of legacy.

I love those lyrics. It powerfully sums up the kind of legacy God will look at when we die someday.

My Grandpa Ralph turns 100 on May 1 (I turn 26.5, but we aren’t celebrating that apparently!).

He has left a legacy. He loves God, he loves life, he loves his family, he loved his wife faithfully for 65+ years. As the family patriarch, he has left a legacy of loving, Christian devotion. To this day, he remains someone who faithfully loves life and loves God with every fiber of his being.

He is a great man.

If I can leave the kind of legacy that my Grandpa left, I will consider it more than a life well-lived.

Read the article about my Grandpa here.

http://www.tdn.com/lifestyles/article_417de908-4f10-11df-ae0e-001cc4c03286.html

Leave a Reply

