It’s None Of Your Business

“It’s None Of My Business”

Or is it?

Driving into work this morning, I tuned to ESPN radio to hear Charles Barkley, ex-NBA star and current NBA broadcaster, rant how Tiger Wood’s life is none of our business. In fact, as a longtime acquaintance of Tiger’s, Barkley claimed he knew what was going on all along (if you’ve been MIA from the U.S. for four months, it has been revealed Tiger cheated on his wife and two kids with several women for years). And even still, despite his knowledge, it was none of his business to intervene or even care what Tiger was doing to destroy his family.

Charles Barkley

Frankly, Barkley represents the viewpoint of most Americans in regards to whose business is whose.

American Individualism: It’s our right, privilege, and freedom to live however we want to live.

It’s NONE of YOUR BUSINESS!

But is this right?

One side note before continuing:

* This isn’t JUST a Christian discussion. I know Tiger and Charles Barkley aren’t Christians who are trying to live and follow Jesus Christ. Therefore, at least in this post, they aren’t being judged by me. I’m a firm believer that Christians should be judged and held accountable, and non-Christians should not be judged by Christians — only by God (1 Corinthians 5:9-13).

This is a discussion about a prevalent, dominant characteristic of Americans: Individualism.

We are free.

We can live how we want.

We can pursue the American dream.

Celebrities commit horrific atrocities, apologize, and life goes on for them.

Tiger destroys his family (his wife and his two extremely innocent children).

Then his friends say: “It’s none of my business. It’s none of your business. It’s none of nobody’s business.”

Is that justice? Is it fair?

Charles: Is it your business if you see one of your friends beating his wife? Is it your business if you see someone destroying her life with drugs? Is it your business if your child is caught being photographed by horny pedophiles?

Who gets to be held accountable and who doesn’t? Is life just laissez-faire, where anything and everything goes?

I understand his perception. He’s a celebrity. We’re a celebrity-obsessed culture. I agree that it is not the media’s business or even mine in this case. However, one can not glean the positive from media exposure without willing to make all his or her life available, including the negative. Just sayin…

Personally, I developed a friendship over the last year where his business became my business and my business became his business. John Sharpe and I were paired up via email to become prayer partners. Since then, we’ve literally made each other’s lives our business.

You know what? It’s made my life so much better.

Furthermore, I find the more I let my life be other people’s business, the better of a person I become.

I am held accountable. I am forced to reveal my entire self. I place people in my life to challenge me to grow as a husband, a pastor, and a man.

I want this. I need this.

Back to Tiger Woods: Charles Barkley should have made Tiger’s infidelities his business. Because of this silly imbalance of individualism and selfishness, Tiger AND Charles have destroyed Tiger’s family.

One of the reasons I love Christ’s church so much is that it is supposed to operate with your business being everyone else’s business. Rarely does it do so, but it should.

Make your life someone else’s business – it will more than pay off.

Leave a Reply

