When You Believe in God but Aren’t Sure He Loves You

He loves me. He loves me not. He loves me. He loves me not.

I spent time reading my bible this morning. He loves me.My heart was full of critical and negative thoughts yesterday. He loves me not.

I prayed against the legion of demonic and evil forces potentially invading my life, my wife, and my home. He loves me.

I snapped at my wife. He loves me not.

For many Christians, the love of God is this inconsistent.

Here’s the truth: “God raises only one-petaled daisies in the garden of his love.”

In this chapter, Craig Groeschel offers a common problem with Christian Atheists: “Belief in God doesn’t automatically result in the belief – the genuine heart conviction – that God loves us” (60).

Enter thought: “There’s just no way God could love someone as undeserving and evil as I am” (61).

It’s funny, isn’t it, how much most of us struggle with truly experiencing the genuine love of God. We may say we believe it. We may spout off “God is love” or “God loves you” like a cheap “How are you doing? I’m great” type of conversation.

And if you’re like me and spend a lot of time in church, I’m sure you tend to roll your eyes every time a sermon heads into that “LOVE” direction ONCE AGAIN (I don’t roll my eyes, though! …Okay, maybe occasionally…).

Love is a cheap, overused, and rarely embraced word – especially in relation to how we experience it from God.

Personally, I struggle with feeling love. Since as young as I can remember, in the name of humility, I rarely allowed myself to truly feel love. When I received an honor or recognition, my first instinct was to brush it off. When someone expressed love to me, my first instinct is to move on. When Emily tells me how much she adores and loves me, although I try to absorb everything she says, there is still a part of me, a little voice saying, “Well ya, but…”

This problem correlates with my feeling of love from God. I struggle, like a Christian Atheist, with believing God loves me as much as he says he does.

I pray continually for God to break down these barriers — and it’s working. Soaking is a practice that has increased my ability to experience love as well.

The truth I want to feel is this: God is love. And this love covers a multitude of sins (1 Peter 4:8).

God loves his children, no matter who they are or what they’ve done. He simply loves the fact they are created.

Let us not get tired of hearing this. Let us find ways to freely accept, embrace, and radically encounter God’s love. Let us be creative in how we re-package this unchanging love of God for others. This love changes EVERYTHING!!

“For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord” — Romans 8:38-39.

NOTHING can separate us from God’s love.

May you experience this love anew. May you come to a genuine heart conviction in the reality of Romans 8:38-39. May you fully embrace the love God has for all his children.

Do you believe the picture below? If not, may you come to know the God who loves everyone!

Leave a Reply

