The One Campaign

 

 

What if we became ONE ?

What if we became ONE ?

 

 

“Imagine all the people living life in peace. You may say I’m a DREAMER, but I’m not the only one. I hope someday you’ll join us and the world will be as ONE.” – John Lennon, lead singer of The Beatles.

I’m a dreamer. A BIG DREAMER. Thoughts of making an impact in the world gets my juices flowing and my heart pumping. When I dream about hundreds of youth and the leaders in gathering together to party together and worship God. When I dream about these hundreds of youth forming a group of people committed to loving each other endlessly and selflessly, moving to extend our ARMS to reach out and grab those people who don’t know love. When I dream about our huge group impacting the community and schools we go back to. Well, all these dreams make me go CRAZY!

But I keep struggling with the same things when it comes to my dreams – I focus too much on how little I’m doing and how big and unachievable my dreams seem. No matter how many times I hear my brother telling me to keep one eye on the big dreams and one eye on the now, my eyes keep wandering to the DREAMS!

We were made to dream, so I’m guessing there is some dream out there that makes your heart PUMP FAST! What are they? What issue makes your heart pump? What dream has God given you to pursue? What dream puts you into the MainStream of life?

God wants us to dream. But if you’re like me, you’ve got to find ways to take care of ONE thing at a time. Every time I stepped to the plate as a baseball player, I dreamed of hitting a homerun – but I couldn’t ever hit a homerun if I didn’t first focus on stepping into the batter’s box, sizing up the pitcher, and making contact first. I need to focus on ONE thing at a time. So that’s what we’re going to do…

The One Campaign. The adults and leaders that surround our youth department have launched THE ONE CAMPAIGN. Over the next six weeks, we are committing to intensive prayer, relationship, and listening in order to focus the YOUTH ministry in ways that God dreams. We handed out cross key chains to serve as a reminder. We are praying for ONE mind, ONE gift to be utilized, ONE heart, ONE vision, ONE dream, ONE more kid to know Jesus, ONE more life to be re-lit for Jesus, ONE way to impact our community, and ONE more leader to join our force. Most importantly, we are going to go looking in ONE direction – Jesus Christ, in order to find the MainStream.

And now, we need YOU! Youth and other people receiving this email – Commit for 6 weeks to join us in THE ONE CAMPAIGN. Pray for our focus and direction as we seek to become all that God has called us to be. Finally, come find me in my office or during Church to get your cross key chain to remind yourself about The One.  

So the question is: What is the ONE thing that God created YOU to do to make a difference? What ONE DREAM has God imprinted on your soul?

Pray for us. Pray for our youth. Pray for us to be ONE so we can move “rhythmically and easily” with each other. Imagine…

“I hope someday you’ll join us and the world will be as ONE!” – Lennon

Leave a Reply

