New Year’s Resolve

Image

It sure seems like New Year’s Resolutions got a bad wrap this year. Every where I turned it seemed people were saying things like: “It’s pointless to make New Year’s Resolutions because you end up breaking them by February anyways.” And on and on and on.

But I’m all for New Year’s Resolutions. It’s part of the ebb and flow of life, and I’m okay with whatever comes as a result.

When I was a baseball player and training hard to put on more weight, I would take time in the pre-season to lift more intensely and take supplements, like creatine. Now, I knew that by taking creatine that whatever I added in weight and muscle was about 25% water that I would eventually lose when I was done with creatine. However, because of my focus on lifting more intensely and setting new resolve to push harder for a shorter time, I gained more than I otherwise would have.

What does that have to do with New Year’s Resolutions? Regardless of when they are broken, it is still an important part of the ebb and flow of my life – to set resolutions, go for it with everything I have, and then realize it was worth the push, no matter when they trailed off.

With that being said, here are a few of mine:

1. Grow in peace
This year, I want to focus on the peace and confidence that ONLY comes as a result of Jesus Christ in me. This year, rather than being anxious about results, ministry, my family, and my life, I want to learn to deeply rest in the fact that Christ is the only hope, assurance, and peace I can put my confidence in.

How am I going to do this?
* Never replace my quiet time with God with other activity
* Spend 4 nights this year at a prayer cabin
* Go through counseling (which I’ve already begun)
* Pray and listen more
* Focus more on what God is saying to me and less on what God is saying to others (in books, sermons, or otherwise)
* Fast once a month

2. Grow in discipline
Since I’ve finished playing professional sports, I have lost some of the discipline that helped me achieve in sports. So, this year, I simply want to increase and grow in basic disciplines like healthy eating and working out so I can re-establish this kind of living in my life.

How am I going to do this?
* P90x 4 times a week (I just can’t do Yoga and Kenpo, so I’m modifying this one)
* Counting calories (Great with myfitnesspal).
* Less sweets

So far, this has been easy to re-establish, but check with me again in February!

3. Be a better Father and Husband than I am a Pastor
One of the primary goals of my life is that those closest to me (Emily and Maddox) would consider me the best Father and Husband they could ever ask for. But because this can be objective (like who are they really comparing me to!!), I want them to look at me and say: “John is a great pastor, but he’s an even better Dad and Husband.”

How am I going to do this?
* Remind myself before I enter my house that I need to turn it back on and bring my best energy to them.
* Spend one chunk of time a week alone with Maddox
* Go on a date once every two weeks with Emily
* Eat dinner together without a TV on
* Keep the phone on the counter and not in my hands when I’m at home
* Pray together and read Maddox’s stories (even though he can’t understand!).

Anyways. Those are just a few of my resolutions. It’s a new day and a new year to make another push towards a becoming a better you.
What are some of your New Year’s Resolutions?

Leave a Reply

