Books I Can’t Wait To Read

I’m one of those obsessive stockpilers of books. The good thing is, I usually only buy them when I get gift cards, sell other books back, or get them free through various blogging, publisher reviewing sites. So I don’t necessarily break the bank buying books. (I felt like I needed to confess).

I just recently had a birthday, so I’ve gone on a book buying binge. Therefore, I thought I’d post a few books I’ve stockpiled and am excited to read:

1. Simply Jesus by NT Wright
I’m actually 2/3 of the way through this one. I have not read a ton of NT Wright, but when I do, I love it. I love how he brings a fresh, intellectual perspective on everything — even Jesus. This book has challenged me to consider what the Gospels are really about. Are they about Jesus saving us to go to heaven someday? Are they about some sort of quasi-revolution? Are they about Jesus proving he was God? Wright says no to all of these. Jesus came primarily to let us know: God is King. Now. He’s come to bring the Kingdom to earth as it is in heaven. I highly recommend this book.

2. Pastor: A Memoir by Eugene Peterson
To be honest, I’ve been weary of reading this book. I know Peterson (author of The Message) is not fond of the pastor-as-CEO type of pastoral leadership. I don’t know if I necessarily agree. But I admire him so much, I’m willing to dive into what he thinks about what it means to be a pastor. He is a faithful, Godly man. I can only hope to maintain the kind of ministry he has in life.

3. Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson
My brother bought me this one for my birthday. I’m excited to read this for obvious reasons, but from what I’ve heard from reviews, this isn’t just a “Steve Jobs is a Hero” type of book. Apparently, it offers some real candid looks into the dark side of Jobs as well. I’m excited to read it and get a glimpse into the life of a masterful leader and innovator.

4. Moonwalking with Einstein by Joshua Foer
I came across this book by viewing another book (love that feature of Amazon). Now, I’m very intrigued. My current job forces me to use my memory more than I ever have done before. This book is all about ways in which we can improve our memory and retention (and I believe uses someone who competes in memory competitions as the primary character). Do they really have memory competitions in life? They do. Can’t wait to read this one.

5. Insurrection by Peter Rollins
I must admit: Peter Rollins is way smarter than I will ever be. I read “How (Not) to Speak of God and was thoroughly lost and confused. I gave him another chance by reading The Orthodox Heretic, and was moved beyond belief. It was powerful, gut-wrenching in some ways, and stimulating. So I decided to read his latest. Plus, this is a book about doubt and how we engage with doubt as Christians.

6. The Hammer of God by Bo Giertz
If you think your “Facebook” books page doesn’t influence, it does! I spent some time scouring people’s facebook pages (at least people I respect and trust) to see what their all-time favorite books were. This was listed on my friend Jeremey King’s page. That’s all I know about it.

7. Bonhoeffer by Eric Metaxas
This won several awards last year (or was it this year – time is flying) for being the best book of the year. I admire Bonhoeffer a lot, and this is a high-flying in-depth look at his life.

8. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
I read so much theology and leadership, I find myself craving a non-fiction or fiction book about anything BUT those things sometimes. This is one of those books. It’s been a best-seller for a while, and garnered some recognition.

9. Matterhorn by Karl Marlantes
The same is true with this one as it is for the book above. Matterhorn has received some recognition, and I believe it is a tale of one’s ventures into the Vietnam War. These books, while I definitely learn from them, are more of an escape for me. I can only read so much in a year, so I make sure I pick books that have generally been well-received.

What are you planning on reading for the rest of 2011?

Leave a Reply

